top of page

About the Mount Vernon District

The Mount Vernon District is one of nine magisterial districts in Fairfax County, Virginia. Located in southeastern Fairfax County, the Mount Vernon District is bounded by the City of Alexandria to the north, the Potomac River to the east, the Occoquan River to the south, and Huntley Meadows to the west. Home to more than 125,000 people, the Mount Vernon District is the crown jewel of Fairfax County, to include:

The Mount Vernon District has many beautiful parks, to include Elizabeth Hartwell Mason Neck National Wildlife RefugeFort Hunt Park, Mason Neck State Park, and Pohick Bay Regional Park. In addition, the District has wonderful libraries that promote freedom of access and expression through programming, community spaces, technology, and collections of educational and recreational resources, to include Sherwood Hall Regional Library, Kingstowne Library, Lorton Library, and Martha Washington Library. Finally, there are several recreational centers with swimming pools, fitness rooms, gyms, and class spaces, to include George Washington Recreation CenterGum Springs Community Center, Lorton Community Center, and Mount Vernon Rec Center

Mount Vernon District Map
bottom of page